Catholic School Employment Qualifications and Openings

Teacher Qualifications:
  • Commitment to the Catholic Church’s teaching mission and philosophy
  • Dedication to a values-based education
  • Baccalaureate degree from an accredited college
  • A valid NJ State Certification or commitment to certification
  • Ongoing commitment to students, parents, community, and profession
  • Teaching experience a plus
Principal Qualifications:

Candidates must possess educational vision, leadership skills, organizational ability and interpersonal strengths.  These leaders must be committed Catholics who can inspire faculty and staff, and engage parents and students in pursuit of both spiritual development and academic excellence.     

Candidates must meet the following requirements:
  • Practicing Catholic
  • Relevant experience in teaching and/or administration
  • Earned Master’s degree in Education, preferably in school leadership
  • NJ Teaching Certificate or its reciprocal
  • NJ Principal Certification preferred or commitment to attain or its reciprocal
  • Letters of Recommendation from the following: pastor, 2 professional sources

Current openings are listed below. Schools can list their openings with us, but they are not obligated to do so. Prospective teachers are free to contact any school directly. Please note that applications are to be sent as indicated below (e-mail, fax, etc) directly to the schools, not to the Archdiocese of Newark unless otherwise indicated.

 

Current Teacher Openings Unless otherwise indicated, all positions are for the 2016-2017 academic year

Bergen County


Technology Coordinator, Part-Time
Nurse, Part-Time

Transfiguration Academy
10 Bradley Avenue
Bergenfield, NJ  07621
James Carlo, Principal
principal@transfigurationacademy.org


Math, Full-Time
Science, Full-Time
Bergen Catholic High School 
1040 Oradell Avenue
Oradell, NJ 07649
201-261-1844
Mr. Timothy McElhinney, Principal
TMcElhinney@bergencatholic.org


Substitute Teachers
Queen of Peace Grammar School 
21 Church Place
North Arlington, NJ 07031
Ms. Ellen Naughton, Principal
enaughton@qpgs.org


Technology Integrator, Grades K-8,  Part-Time
St. Peter Academy 
431 Fifth Avenue
River Edge, NJ 07661
Mr. James McCarthy, Principal
jmcarthy@spare.org

Spanish, Grades K-8, Part-Time
Music, Grades 1-8, Part-Time
Christ the Teacher School
359 Whiteman Street
Fort Lee, NJ 07024
Ms. Frances M. Lacinak
flacinak@christtheteacherschool.org


Campus Ministry, Full-Time
St. Joseph Regional High School 

40 Chestnut Ridge Road
Montvale, NJ 07645
201-391-3300
Mr. Michael Bruno, Principal
brunom@sjrnj.org


Physical Education, Part-Time 8:15-11:30 5 days per week
St. Leo School 
300 Market Street
Elmwood Park, NJ 07407
Ms. Traci Koval, Principal
tkoval@stleosschool.org


Grade 4, Full-Time|
Academy of Our Lady of Grace
400 Kamena Street
Fairview, NJ 07022
Mrs. Filomena D’Amico
damico@aolgfairview.org


English- Full Time
Math- Two positions available: 1 Part Time, 1 Full Time Masters Degree Required
History, Full-Time, Masters Degree Required

Queen of Peace High School 

191 Rutherford Place
North Arlington, NJ 07031
Mr. John Tonero, Principal
jtonero@qphs.org

Algebra Grades 7 and 8 Full-Time
Academy of Our Lady 
180 Rodney Street
Glen Rock, NJ 07452
Mr. Steve Roberts, Principal
sroberts@academyofourlady.org

Essex County

Classroom Aide, Part-Time
French, Part-Time

St. Cassian School 
190 Lorraine Avenue
Upper Montclair, NJ  07043
Ms. Maria A. Llanes, Principal
mllanes@stcassianschool.org


Technology Integration Specialist, Pre-K to Grade 8, Full-Time
Our Lady of the Lake School
26 Lakeside Avenue
Verona, NJ 07044
Ben Ronquillo, M.Ed., Principal
bronquillo@myoll.org


Science, Middle-School, Full-Time
Nurse, Part-Time, Three Days Per Week
St. Rose of Lima Academy 
52 Short Hills Avenue
Short Hills, NJ 07078
Mrs. Tina Underwood, Principal
principal@srlacademy.org


Music, grades K-prep – Grade 8, Part-Time
Aquinas Academy 
388 S. Livingston Avenue
Livingston, NJ 07039
Mr. John Cohrs, Principal
jcohrs@aquinasacademynj.org


6th Grade Homeroom, teaching mathematics and social studies to grades 6-8, Full-Time
Grade 5, Full-Time
St. Francis Xavier School
594 N. 7th Street
Newark, NJ 07107
Mrs. Lisa Perez, Principal
lisaperezst.francis@gmail.com


Nurse, Part-Time Wednesdays 8:30-2:40, Must be a RN, School experience preferred.
St. Thomas the Apostle School 
50 Byrd Avenue
Bloomfield, NJ 07003
Mr. Michael Petrillo, Principal
mpetrillo@stthomastheapostlenj.com


Computer Teacher, K-8 Part-Time
Spanish K-5, Part-Time
Ironbound Catholic Academy 
366 E. Kinney Street
Newark, NJ 07105
Ms. Egle Sausaitiene, Principal
e.sausaitiene@ironboundcatholic.org


Spanish, K-8 Spanish teacher, Part-Time, Monday and Thursday, 8:10 – 2:45
Good Shepherd Academy 
24 Brookline Avenue
Nutley, NJ 07110
Jane Feltz, MPF, Principal
principal@gsanutley.org


School Secretary, Full-Time,
Must have a minimum of two years  successful experience in a related secretarial or office position, or be graduate of a recognized program of secretarial studies. For further details see this link(scroll down).

St. Joseph School 
115 Telford Street
East Orange, NJ 07018
Ms. Karen Cavaness, Principal
kcavaness@stjosepheo.com

Hudson County

Middle School Science, Full-Time
Kindergarten Aide, Full-Time
Hoboken Catholic Academy
555 7th Street
Hoboken, NJ 07030
Matthew McGrath, Principal
mmcgrath@hobokencatholic.org

 

Union County

Substitute Teachers, Pre-K-8
The Academy of Our Lady of Peace
99 South Street
New Providence, NJ 07974
908.464.8657
Mr. Joel A. Castillo, EDS Principal
Principal@TheAcademyOLP.org


Bus Driver, Part-Time

Roselle Catholic High School
1 Raritan Road
Roselle, NJ 07203
Mr. Thomas Berrios, Principal
tberrios@rosellecatholic.org


Language Arts, Middle School, Full-Time
Math, Middle School, Full-Time

St. Joseph the Carpenter School
140 E. 3rd Ave.
Roselle, NJ 07203
Mr. Patrick Mullen, Principal
gilliland@stjosephroselleschool.org

Teacher Assistant Early Childhood ages 2-5, Part-Time
Send resume and cover letter to Donna Crowley, Director
Crowley@stjosephroselleschool.org


Social Studies Teacher – Grades 9-12
St. Mary of the Assumption High School 
237 S. Broad Street
Elizabeth, NJ 07202
908-352-4350
Mr. David Evans, Principal
devans@stmaryhsnj.org


Grade 3, Full-Time
Librarian, Part-Time
Language Arts/Reading, Grades 4- 8 Full-Time

Our Lady of Guadalupe Academy
227 Centre Street
Elizabeth, NJ 07202
Mr. James Feehan, Principal
olga@olgacademy.org

Current Principal and President Openings